Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-17-2020, 06:13 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2019 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Aliso Viejo , California
I'm So New, I Don't Know What I Don't Know!

Like I said, I'm a newbie and want to learn. I have had my 2020 Interstate GT for 6 weeks and have been to 3 RV parks with full hookups and one winery parking lot. That was our first boondocking experience. My concern is about battery life; mainly for keeping my food and drink at proper temperature. Even thought we have all the fancy stuff, i.e., microwave and TV, I know how to conserve energy. Basic question - does the inverter need to be on all the time, even when I am driving?
How much energy does the inverter draw?
How do I know when my batteries are dangerously low?
Like I said, I don't know what I don't know, but want to learn.
Thanks in advance.
Denny
DennyO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2020, 06:26 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2015 Interstate Ext. Coach
Columbus , Ohio
No, your inverter does not need to be on. If you were Boondocking And you wanted to watch TV then you would turn it on.
Otherwise while Boondocking you would run your generator to use your microwave or air conditioner
You do not want to draw your batteries down more than 50% which is around 12.2 V.
Old 08-17-2020, 06:33 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
You’ll go far if you:
Don’t hit anything, and
read the manual.
Battery capacity varies, based on history (of abuse). Look at how many amp hours yours are rated for. Get a feel for how much load the trailer accessories draw. Allow for charging from your solar or generator. Do the math - amps out, amps in.