Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-08-2013, 08:28 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Rochester , Michigan
How to Winterize my Airstream Interstate?

Hello, I am a newbie at this whole thing...Could someone please explain to me the steps on what I need to do to winterize my Interstate? I live in Michigan so the winters can be pretty brutal. Thank you.
Interstate1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:38 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Rochester , Michigan
Oops! I posted this in the wrong spot... Sorry
Old 09-09-2013, 06:39 AM   #3
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstate1 View Post
Oops! I posted this in the wrong spot... Sorry
Ask a mod to move this thread to the Sprinter and B-vans Forum. They can do that. But since you shouldn't have to wait for an answer…

The basics of winterizing should be covered in Section G of your Airstream Interstate Owner's Manual, under the heading "Storage and Winterizing."

A few things the manual doesn't address…
  • In step 5, do not remove the shower hose like it says, You'll see why momentarily.
  • In step 6, "apply at least 60psi of air pressure at the city water inlet" you'll need a blowout plug for that. I use a Camco 36153 brass blowout plug. But you should reclose the low-point drains and leave both faucets open halfway between hot and cold so that you can blow out the whole system, and not just the part of the system between the city inlet and the low point drains.