Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2021, 09:24 PM   #1

Mt Hamilton , California
How to leave Interstate for 3 months

Hi, I am new to the world of Interstate camper vans and we are about to leave it in storage for 3 months so perhaps someone can help me with a question regarding how to protect my batteries for the 3 months. I am in a covered storage unit that has 110V but wanted to know what to do, ie,

- do I simply switch off/disconnect the batteries with the switch beside the door?
- Do I connect up to the 110V and leave the batteries connect with the switch on?
- Do I need a trickle charge and if I do where do I connect it to the batteries?

Any other options?

Thanks for the help
Brian
scotsman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 05:14 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 20' Flying Cloud
Sag Harbor , New York
Welcome to the forum. Some Interstate experts will probably comment.

Is your owners manual any help? Maybe too basic.

Good luck,

Peter

OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 06:52 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
League City , Texas
Any chance of having a trusted friend do a couple of spot checks for you?

Three months represents a long opportunity for Murphy's Law to kick in. Even if you establish the best electrical conservation strategy, there's still a lot that can go wrong. Rodents, impacts of facility mismanagement, vandalism, etc.
InterBlog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 07:11 AM   #4
4 Rivet Member

2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Cedar Rapids , Iowa
We leave our Interstate in winter storage easily for this amount of time so here’s what works for us. When we had AGM batteries, we would plug in our house batteries and leave the battery switch on. We also have a Schumacher SC1319 trickle charger that easily clips on to your chassis battery connections under the hood which we plug in also.