Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2020, 04:31 PM   #1
New Member
 
Currently Looking...
2015 Interstate Grand Tour
Folsom , California
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
GFCI- no outlets working

Iíve checked fuses. Restarted breaker system. Did not find an outlet with a reset button. What items do I need to check if the GFCI breaker will not stay on and keeps tripping when only TVís are plugged in.
__________________

B-Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 04:36 PM   #2
Slide Out Society #001
 
GCinSC2's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic S/O
Somewhere , South Carolina
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3,841
TV's MIGHT be a clue. TV's unplugged no problem? OK plug only one in at a time and retest, try to isolate problem.
__________________

__________________
S/OS #001
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.9L 6 Speed
16" Michelins, Hi Spec Wheels, Max Brake, Carslile Actuator, Equal-i-zer, Dill TPMS. Campfire cook.
GCinSC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 04:51 PM   #3
Contributing Member
 
Pahaska's Avatar
 
2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,992
Images: 4
GFCI will not reset unless you either have external power plugged in or the generator running.
__________________
John W. Irwin
2018 Interstate GT, "Sabre-Dog V"
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 05:40 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
Punta Gorda , Florida
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 22
And many times the GFCI breaker itself fails. They are cheap to replace.

David
DavidEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 06:27 PM   #5
New Member
 
Currently Looking...
2015 Interstate Grand Tour
Folsom , California
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 4
Does not reset when on shore power or generator as well
B-Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 06:46 PM   #6
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by B-Wanderer View Post
Does not reset when on shore power or generator as well


Time for a new one...?
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 07:14 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
2013 Interstate Coach
Raymond , Iowa
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,160
I recall reading in a previous post that some types/brands of GFCI outlets do not work with the Airstream electrical system. I don't know why that would be...
Titus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 09:36 AM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Marco Island , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 67
GFCI Breaker

We had the same problem. The breaker would pop randomly and have to be reset. Technicians weren't much help until I recommended changing the breaker. Sure enough that is all it took. Haven't had a problem since.
wildwilly. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 09:39 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Bozeman , Montana
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 48
I've just developed the same problem, ready to change the breaker. If someone has a recommendation on a brand please post, thank you!
ArcherTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 12:25 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Las Cruces , New Mexico
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 24
GFCI & Outlets Not Working

This situation happened last year. Replaced both GFCI & Breaker. No repeat of the problem since.
JJKinnerup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 02:22 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 30' International
Dunkirk , Maryland
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 22
We had a similar problem. Breaker would reset but trip after a couple hours even with no load on the circuit. I replaced the breaker and solved the problem. Odd that a 4 year old breaker would fail, but new one works fine
Munnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 04:50 PM   #12
1 Rivet Member
 
2017 27' International
Oviedo , Florida
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 17
If your Circuit breaker is tripping?

I just had the same problem on my 2018 27 FB Sirenity. My AC would not run, gave error code, Replaced 20 amp breaker. Luckily had my AS serviced and they found wires behind breaker panel had loosed up in wire nut and were arcing, burned insulation on wires. They redid connection with new wire nut and wrapped wires with eletrical tape. They said they had seen this before
Where vibration and motion from traveling caused connect to become loose. Check out rear of breaker also for this problem.
David2638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 05:59 PM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
Kensington , Maryland
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcherTC View Post
I've just developed the same problem, ready to change the breaker. If someone has a recommendation on a brand please post, thank you!

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
2019 26' U FC RBT "Buck"
Subforum dedicated to Airstreams and riding bicycles:
https://www.velocipedesalon.com/forum/f62/
Too tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 01:08 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Bozeman , Montana
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 48
Thanks!

David 2638 -- great advice.
Too tall -- thank you for the link to the replacement breaker.


David
ArcherTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 03:34 PM   #15
:SPACE A" S/O 11 Air19745
 
guskmg's Avatar

 
2006 34' Classic S/O
Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,253
I had the same thing and replaced it with an identical GFI from Airstream. It happen while I was at Alumapalooza store ladies got me replacement.
guskmg
guskmg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 09:44 AM   #16
New Member
 
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Hello! We are needing to replace our GFCI breaker. It’s been acting up for awhile, but now we can’t even reset it. Please give me more info on how to replace it, and where to get the replacement. Thank you!
Claudia5455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 12:17 PM   #17
Contributing Member
 
Pahaska's Avatar
 
2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,992
Images: 4
Lowe's, HD, or pretty much any electrical supplier. Best to take the old one with you. The replacement may be from a different manufacturer, but it is easy to hold them up together and compare.
__________________
John W. Irwin
2018 Interstate GT, "Sabre-Dog V"
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 07:15 PM   #18
Rivet Master
 
gator.bigfoot's Avatar
 
2007 30' Classic
KW , Ontario
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Claudia5455 View Post
Hello! We are needing to replace our GFCI breaker. Itís been acting up for awhile, but now we canít even reset it. Please give me more info on how to replace it, and where to get the replacement. Thank you!
Which breaker are you referring too? Most of the trailers use GFCI outlets not breakers, as this is a much cheaper option. Now if your trailer uses a breaker then you should first try disconnecting any wires from the load side of the breaker first and then see if it resets. If it does then most likely there is nothing wrong with the breaker. However if the breaker does not reset then you do have an issue with that breaker. As mentioned you can pick one from any electrical supplier or hardware store.
gator.bigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2020, 07:28 PM   #19
Contributing Member
 
Pahaska's Avatar
 
2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,992
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by gator.bigfoot View Post
Which breaker are you referring too? Most of the trailers use GFCI outlets not breakers
The OC has a 2018 Interstate, not a trailer. Recent interstates use one GFCI breaker to serve the galley and outside outlets. Older Interstates (my 2014.5 for instance) did have an outlet breaker just aft of the driver's seat.
__________________

__________________
John W. Irwin
2018 Interstate GT, "Sabre-Dog V"
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with GFCI outlets mikeinca Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 07-03-2019 07:02 PM
Front vs back GFCI outlets BurntAsphalt Sprinter and B-van Forum 4 06-25-2016 10:19 PM
New outlets / GFCI protection question bredlo Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 9 12-18-2015 10:10 AM
All outlets not working NicheVintage Lights - Interior & Exterior 11 09-16-2011 10:42 AM
Outlets not working - 74 tradewind pamelake Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 14 03-31-2009 04:20 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.