Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2024, 11:48 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
2017 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Fallbrook , California
Generator issues or am I doing something wrong?

Hey all,

Once again, I'm a new AS sprinter owner, for the first time, and while the dealer gave me a pretty thorough walkthrough of everything on the vehicle, I'm still learning a bunch of things the hard way. I really appreciate your help and the kindness on the message board so far.

We have a built in generator on our 2017 Airstream Interstate. I turn it on, and the AC will run, but after a couple minutes, when everything else powers on on the main board (the part the says the 20v, 30v, Generator - the W/H, AC, COFFEE and MICROWAVE light up) then the generator seems to shut off.

I was told I can't run the microwave and AC at the same time, but even when I'm not running the microwave, the generator sounds like it is stalling out.

Do I need to actually shut these off on the circuit breaker to prevent the generator from shutting down? Or do you think this is a mechanical issue that needs to be looked at?
freddyzuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2024, 12:20 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2021 Interstate 24GL
, California
Stab in the dark

I would go back through manuals to each component and read those to understand inverter/ charger/ etc. need to know what each part does, name and how to work for your system. It will improve DIY / troubleshooting significantly.

Based upon what you wrote, in the next generation AI, maybe powers differently,

If our in charger is on, the microwave and AC will run and then the charging circuit will grab as primary and not leave enough power to then support the AC or the microwave. So for us charger off.

Very simplified approach

A thought process of:
I turned on the generator
what /why did I turn it on / to support which system