Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > Sprinter and B-van Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-04-2021, 08:52 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Airstream - Other
Ft Worth , Texas
Airstream Interstate refrigerators

Hi there
I’m new to the airstream world.
I’m having an issue keeping the fridge on while car and trailer
Is off. Like staying the night in a hotel or going into a grocery store
Or keeping it on in my carport.
I’m confused
Do I always need to have the invertor ON and or always have the master switch
Always on?
When I came out from the hotel in the morning my food was thawing in the freezer ?
Goldenslacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2021, 05:10 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
You don’t say what year your Interstate is, but you need to have the inverter on in order to access your coach battery, if I have worded that correctly.

In mine, there is a “use” or “store” switch, with “use” needing to be on for my frig and interior lights to work when not plugged in to electricity.

Maggie
Old 12-05-2021, 11:08 AM   #3
Contributing Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
I assume you do not have lithium batteries.

The inverter only supplies three outlets ... the 2 TVs and the DVD player. It will charge the batteries whether on or off. On just lets it supply those 3 outlets. The inverter does not need to be on for the refrigerator.

The USE switch by the door must be on for the refrigerator to run.

The problem with most years is the batteries are too small to run the refrigerator overnight if not plugged in externally. Starting in 2019, the four batteries would usually run the refrigerator overnight, but not much more.