RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 07-30-2019, 05:05 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
2017 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
San Diego , California
2017 Interstate Parking Brake Stuck

While in a nearly inaccessible canyon in central Idaho we could not get the parking brake to release. While I studied the fuse chart hoping to disable the brake my smarter wife called Coach Net for help. Their technicians said they had encountered the same problem in the past with Sprinters and said to try three actions.
1. Slide the drivers seat forward and back several times. Sometimes that releases the brake. No joy for us
2. Rotate the drivers seat around as far as possible and do it several several times. Again, no resolution - the parking brake still would not release.
3. Stand behind the drivers seat and firmly grasp the parking brake handle with both hands. Using the drivers seat to increase leverage, slowly apply as much pressure pulling up on the brake as far and as hard as one can, then release the handle as normal.
That worked!
Thanks Coach Net.
Fly.On is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 05:31 PM   #2
Contributing Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
You must have applied the brake with more than normal force for it to be that hard to release. The parking brake does not need excessive force to be effective.

I can't see where items #1 and #2 would possibly make any difference. Item #3 is the normal release procedure, except that release should not require appreciably more force than the brake was first applied.
WBCCI #9632
Pahaska is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 06:37 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2013 Interstate Coach
Fulton , Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fly.On View Post