Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-08-2014, 11:32 PM   #1
Off to find the world

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Westminster , Colorado
New AS Owner: advice on traveling w/ dogs

Hi! My husband and I finally fulfilled a lifelong dream of being AS owners. We bought a 2014 barely used Flying Cloud.

We also have 4 dogs (3 lab-ish mixes and a pug). (Pict, from L-R, is Dean 6yrs, Frank 5years, Bogart 1.5yrs). I am a dog trainer (owner of Dog Training, Clicker Training - Masters of Mischief Dog Training - Denver, Co), so, message me all of your dog behavior questions!

I was wondering, what dog you wish you had known about traveling with yours pups before their maiden trip?Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1407562271.831418.jpg
Views:	355
Size:	210.0 KB
ID:	218654
TinCanDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 09:15 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2015 28' Flying Cloud
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Waxahachie , Texas
Make them sit before you exit the trailer and make sure you always exit first. We had a couple of anxious moments when they saw the squirrel first! We've been on the road 5 weeks now and have a routine down now. It's a blast. You will be glad you took them. Also, be sure to alternate days where there are off leash areas with days that don't have them. And they learn to appreciate grass when we find it. Lots of campgrounds have gravel only. We just had a lovely afternoon sitting outside the camper with my pooches laying in the grass and just enjoying it!
silverlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 09:56 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2012 30' Flying Cloud
San Antonio , Texas