Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-29-2021, 06:09 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2021 25' Flying Cloud
Miamisburg , Ohio
Which Tow Vehicle for 25FB

Hey guys/gals,
I’m new to the chat, and have a LOT of questions. My wife and I decided to pick out the AS model we wanted before picking out a tow vehicle. We decided the Flying Cloud 25FB would be best for our family. I know the dry tongue weight is ~850 and I’ve read some people say their loaded weight can be 1,200 or more. I was convinced a 1/2 Ton truck could tow the trailer but I don’t know what I don’t know. I have a family of 4 plus a dog and I’ll admit I’m a big guy at 225 lbs. The weight of family and big dog is roughly 600 pounds. My kids will still grow a little. I don’t know of any half ton trucks with payload capacity that would cover me. Is that true? Should I plan on buying a 3/4 ton truck? Seems excessive for a 7,300 pound trailer but I’d rather be safe. Am I on the right track? Would love the input from others. Thanks, Andy
McMullap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2021, 06:37 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2023 27' Globetrotter
Winder , Georgia
You are on the right track Andy. I tried it with a 1/2 ton and a 25RB which is even lighter on the tongue than an FB. It just did not feel right to me. I have towed many things all my adult life and I was just uncomfortable with this. I felt I was pushing the limits. Traded for an F-250 and never looked back. Most modern 1/2 tons will have plenty of power. The payload, stability, and braking are the issues. Or at least that was my experience.
Bcc75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2021, 06:54 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2021 27' Globetrotter
San Francisco , California