Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-19-2019, 06:03 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Morrisonville , New York
What Airstream can I tow?

Hello Folks:

I'm a newbie who wants to buy an airstream. Going to full time it over the winter (in SW USA) , have it on my property next year in Montana when I build, and use part time thereafter.

My tow vehicle is a 2018 Honda Pilot EX, 3.5 L engine, 6 cyl. This has a tow kit package on the vehicle with a sticker that indicates I can tow a trailer with a max GVWR of 5000, hitch weight of 500 lbs.

Pretty sure I'll need a weight distribution hitch, electric brake controller. I have a standard ball hitch and 4 prong electrical hookup.

QUESTION:

What is the max size airstream you folks feel I could go with? What do you suggest for hitches, etc? Names, models are still confusing but I like the Flying Cloud and Caravel 19cb.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
Georockman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 06:30 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2007 25' Safari
Rogers , AR
Due to hitch weight it appears that you're limited to the 16RB Bambi & Caravel or the 22FB Bambi.

I prefer the aesthetics of the Caravel line but I'd suggest the 22FB Bambi. I love the 22FB floorplan!

My personal recommendations from my own experience are the Andersen WD Hitch and Prodigy wireless brake controller. A Furion rear view camera definitely aids when towing on the highway and backing up.
Mr. Merk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 06:48 AM   #3
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Welcome Aboard....👍

Buying an AS is the one time when putting the 'cart before the horse' may be the best option. Choose the size you want and then look for the horse.
If you start with a 16' you will more than likely go larger before long and end up in the same place.