RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 12-22-2016, 12:08 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Milford Center , Ohio
Weight Distribution & Payload Ratings

I'm a noob who just started reading about weight distribution, and I'm confused about how WD hitches relate (or don't relate) to a TV's payload rating.

Hypothetically, let's say I have a truck with a payload rating of 1500 lbs. Let's say I also have a trailer with a tongue weight of 1000 lbs.

Some people on this forum have said that if you factor in the tongue weight, that would leave you with 500 lbs of payload for passengers and cargo.

However, I've seen other people say that a weight distribution hitch will move some of the weight (perhaps a third) back to the trailer. Therefore, the "real" tongue weight is something like 700 lbs on the TV (with 300 lbs going to the trailer). This leaves you with 800 lbs of payload capacity in the TV remaining for passengers and cargo.

Which one of these is correct, and why? I've seen many people post both responses, and both have passed without rebuttal or correction by others. They can't both be true.
DPRoberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 12:35 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
I have always been told, internally, by Brand Quality and Engineering, that all specs are in place for weights w/o wd applied, and no adjustments should be made in weight allowances after wd is applied.

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2016, 12:43 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
That said, they have never given me a good explanation and my applied technology degree and work experience allows me to argue both sides of the issue. How's that for clarity?

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
Old 12-22-2016, 01:10 PM   #4