Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-13-2009, 12:29 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1965 24' Tradewind
Beavercreek , Ohio
vintage vs. modern towing

I am trying to decide vintage or modern. Many factors to consider- including sleeping arrangements for a family of 5.

Can some one who has actually towed both describe the difference between towing a vintage 31' and a modern wide body 27' (or there-abouts.)

Thanks
pilgrimjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 01:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 28' Ambassador
Cedaredge , Colorado
I have a 28' 1968 Ambassador and I have towed my friends 28' 2004 safari. I tow with a new 2008 Sequoia with the big motor and tow package. To be honest I really didn't notice the 2000 lb difference that much, it was a little more effort up the hills but not much. I could still pull either on up the mountains faster than I want to. We live in Colorado.

It's going to come down to you Tow Veichle and your hitch set up. like I said, The difference was not that great but I could tell there was more weight with the newer one.

Now the wide body I would have to get extended mirrors for as it was hard to see around.
With my trailer I can see around. Also I found it easier to back up my trailer as I could see more.

As for sleeping 5, If your kids are young they can share a bed. Our friends front coach folded into a bed and so did the dinette. They have a queen in the back.