Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-19-2015, 02:38 PM   #1

Palm Harbor , Florida
Towing a Flying Cloud 25 FB TB

I am a newbie so need advice. Can anyone recommend a best second hand towing vehicle for towing a flying cloud 25 FB TB?
andersontim1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 03:02 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
There isn't a "best", but there is one that will suit you. For me, it's a 2012 Dodge Durango. Others will chime in with their choice.

Welcome to the Forums!
Old 01-19-2015, 04:36 PM   #3
Free Range Human

2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Currently Looking...
Haines , Oregon
Wow, in terms of opinions, you just opened a can of worms. Here's a typical towing thread.

You're going to hear everything from A to Z. I like a diesel pickup because we tow in the mountainous west. Others like SUVs or passenger cars. The best advice I can give you is to look closely at the towing ratings of the vehicles, and compare that to the tongue and loaded weights of your trailer, then make a decision. If you intend to spend time in more mountainous areas, you may want more torque and horsepower. Don't forget that stopping is just as (or more) important as 'going'. Transmission cooling is another factor to consider. Your TV should have a transmission cooler that is capable of standing up to hot weather in the areas you intend to tour.

As a personal rule of thumb, I prefer to keep my towing load to 2/3s (or less) of the tow vehicle rating. Others may have different perspectives.

Good luck.
Drathaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 05:18 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington