Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-15-2024, 04:06 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 27' International
Dunlap , Tennessee
Tight maneuvers with weight distribution and sway system

I have a RAM 2500 TV with rear air bags that have preset heights. Normal setting is slightly higher than Trailer setting. I also use a Reese Strait-Line WD/sway system. I understand that it might be best to remove WD system before tight backing maneuvers. Wondering if I could simply raise TV backend via air bags to relieve WD pressure when backing instead of removing system. Has anyone tried doing this or know if it might be sufficient to help during tight maneuvers?
Bright67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2024, 05:05 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
I've been using that Reese system for 13 years and never had an issue backing up with tight turns.
Old 05-15-2024, 06:19 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

Oak Park , Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne&Sam View Post
I've been using that Reese system for 13 years and never had an issue backing up with tight turns.

+1, only I've been using it for over 20.
sfranklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2024, 07:47 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
I also use the Reese straight line and have almost never removed the hitch for backing. I think twice in 17 years I have removed the chains and bars because of a sharp dip before the campsite. I do not know anything about airbags but it sounds as if your idea would be good. Going onto a ferry for instance. The problem with the WD is with dips, not going backwards per se.
Bill M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2024, 09:09 AM   #5
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

There's really multiple questions here: