Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-17-2020, 01:27 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2023 28' Pottery Barn
Wake Forest , NC
Send a message via Skype™ to patandcole
Sway Control

Hi All...I'm a total newbie having just purchased a 23FBQ Globetrotter which we will pick up in a few weeks. My tow vehicle is a 2020 Lincoln Aviator with tow package rated at 6700 lbs. This SUV has all of the bells and whistles including integrated trailer sway control which brings me to my question.

Given this vehicle is equipped as it is, do I need to purchase a sway control device for towing? Note: I just towed a car trailer/car weighing approx. 5800 lbs from Nevada to Washington state without such a system and had no issues at all. The car trailer was a very simple U-Haul rental trailer with a compression brake system, so seemingly less sophisticated than what my new trailer has.

I appreciate any response!
patandcole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 01:49 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana