Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-30-2020, 08:53 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2021 25' Flying Cloud
North Ogden , Utah
reducing tongue weight

I am an utter newbie ... I have never towed anything at all... I am just jumping into the deep end... well, I suppose there are much heavier things a person could tow than an airstream trailer, but still....

I've got a Flying Cloud 25FB on order... tongue weight empty is 837 pounds witch is 15% of the base weight of 5500. The max total weight is 7300 pounds. I see the recommended tongue weight is 10% to 15% of the trailer weight. So that would be 730 pounds to 1100 pounds. 730 is less that 837!

Would it be safe / reasonable / smart to load the trailer in such a way that the tongue weight even goes down vs the base weight?

I just bought a RAM 2500 diesel to tow the airstream. The payload limit on that is 2188. If I start adding up the bits and pieces, 2188 is a bit snug. I am planning to get a cap for the truck so that's maybe 175 pounds, and maybe I will get the ProPride hitch is 200 pounds, then two adults and two small dogs, call it 400 pounds maybe. A few road snacks, call it 800 pounds of truck payload at a bare minimum, leaves 1388 for the tongue weight plus whatever we want to put in the truck bed. If I can load the trailer at the lower limit of tongue weight, that doubles how much I can carry in the truck bed.

I am sure many folks have explored all these combinations... would love to gather any wisdom... we don't expect the trailer to show up until April some time, but we're sure planning as we wait!
kukula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 09:25 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana