Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-05-2006, 11:03 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1966 26' Overlander
Woodstock , Georgia
Parking and setting up

Since I am new to the trailer side of this aluminum thing, I have a couple of questions.
1, What type wheel chocks or blocks are best for stability. The ones I have are like those below. Actually leveling blocks.

2. When you set up, what is the order that you normally do things, like set the blocks, lower the levelers, unhook from the truck, etc.

My main fear at this point is having a 31 footer rolling down an incline becaue I didn't get it right.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	36_1.JPG
Views:	207
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	25647  
AIR #005
Please visit our blogs and web pages:
OUR AIRSTREAM PASSION! BLOG
RESTORING AN AIRSTREAM
retired!
ALANSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 11:11 AM   #2
1 Rivet Short

1989 25' Excella
By The Bay , Rhode Island
Hoo boy...this could be a loaded ?
But here are some basics.
Back in (make sure you are close enough to your hookups!)
Level with boards side/side
Chock
Unhitch
Level front/back
Put down stabilizers

The remainder is personal preference.

Be sure to reverse this part of the procedure when you leave.

Bill
BillTex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 11:11 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2005 25' Classic
Pelham , New Hampshire
Well, I don't have a picture but the first thing I do is check the side to side level so I can ride up on a block if I have to. Then I place my wheel chocks which are Roto-chocks. That locks my wheels in place so the trailer won't move when I disconnect from the truck. After I disconnect I level the trailer then I set the stabilizers down. After that comes water, electric and setting up the camp site.
bobandcarla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2006, 01:24 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida