Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-03-2003, 05:04 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Question Newbie Towing AS Needs Assistance

I'm new to owning an AS and new to towing anything this big. I've read most of the posts and even more confused than I was before.

BASICS: 2002 F150 5.4 V8, Limited Slip (8600# tow cap)
2003 International CCD

Based on my truck specs I know I can tow my AS. What confuses me is all these types of hitches, connectors, anti-sway things and the like.

What do I really need to get started?

Any help is appreciated.

Jeff
Travel_RN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 05:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 28' International CCD
Pagosa Springs , Colorado
hitches

You can do a search on the topic and pull up alot. I'd also hit the websites for the Reese Hitch products and Hensley Arrow. They both have generic background info as well as details on their product. Basically you need the right hitch and ball assembly to move anything and weight of trailer/tow vehicle influence that decision. Next decision is if you want/need weight distribution bars to help take some of the weight off of the hitch/ball itself. Next decision to make is if you want/need an anti sway "accessory" to go with the setup to help prevent the trailer from fishtailing around in certain situations. I have the Reese hitch with equalizer bars and the dual cam anti sway bars. There are less expensive and more expensive setups. I'm happy with this one. Good luck.
Tin Hut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 05:33 PM   #3
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
Jeff,