Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-15-2013, 10:07 PM   #1
Airstream fanatic

1979 31' Sovereign
Bouse , Arizona
newbie tow question

I have a F-250 4x4 diesel truck and a 1979 31' Sovereign. Will my truck efficiency pull my trailer? I know it sounds dumb, but I know my trailer dry is 4810. I don't have hardly anything in it, because I am going to be towing it home to California. Any help would be nice I'm just a newbie girl lol

1979 Sovereign International (Olivia)
1986 F-250 4X4 (Oscar)
BLOG: https://grapesbigadventure.wordpress.com.
Grapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 10:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1982 34' Limited
Brunswick , Georgia
Your F-250 will have no problems pulling a 31'
I would make sure you have weight distribution and sway control with your setup.
WBCCI #3321
TAC #GA-24
c_lewis77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 01:22 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Brakes: Good chance your '79 will have vacuum disc brakes. Your diesel F-250 probably won't have much of a vacuum port. You'll have to set up a brake controller and a vacuum pump as a minimum, or be learning about a hydraulic brake actuator that probably runs on 30 amp and usually needs a thicker, 10 gauge wire than most umbilicals have. Lots of information on this site to start with, then call an airstream expert on here. Don't go to a local "performance RV" or something, they probably won't understand what you have and want to rip out your premium disc brakes.
Don't give up, but read up and prepare.

NevadaGeo
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 05:52 AM   #4
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
St. Catharines , South Western Ontario
Quote: