Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-25-2021, 04:47 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2021 27' International
Murriet , California
Exclamation Lincoln Navigator towing International 27FB?

I am a totally fresh newbie camper, and my International 27FB will be delivered next month or two. My plan is to tow it with Lincoln Navigator (8300lbs towing, 1677lbs payload), and also to seat 3 toddlers and 3 adults in the SUV.

I was totally sold by the rep at the dealership that the Lincoln Navigator would tow the trailer easily, until I read about payload, tongue weight calculations. With GVWR of 7600lbs, and hitch weight of 800lbs on the trailer, is it a safe towing combination?
Happy weekend!
dukecome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 04:52 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

2021 28' Flying Cloud
Austin , Texas
Did you get the payload weights from the sticker on your door or from the sales brochure?
Pappy3393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 05:13 PM   #3
Wheels Itch)(Must Travel

2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
- east coastal area - , Florida
You might also want to check out the Ford expedition with HD tow package. The capacity is 9300 lbs. On some forums, users say the Ford gas a nicer ride. I pull our 25' FC with a 2020 Ford expedition and it's great.
az-streamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 06:11 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2017 28' International
Jim Falls , Wisconsin