Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2016, 01:28 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 23' International
Chicago , Illinois
Hitch Lock

I'm a total newbie. I'm leaving on my first ever trip with my 23 International and plan to be on the road for the entire summer (lucky me). My wife is very nervous about security particularly that the AS might get stolen when we're off in town or just driving around in our TV away from the AS. Living in Chicago we worry about things like vehicle theft -- and getting shot on the street :-(

So first question is: Does this happen? Do folks back up their trucks and steal ASs?

Second: Should I consider more than a padlock on the hitch tab such as a Coupler Vault Pro? Obviously I'd like to avoid the expense but...

Thank you,
David
Drcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 02:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1976 31' Sovereign
Oswego , Illinois
Not many thefts of AS but generators they like to steal bikes other easy things. I use Master Lock Co. no. 35 that I painted brite red, [highly visible in my opinion they look for a trailer easier to steal with out a lot of trouble]. It fits over coupler has pin that goes up into coupler can't be cut like padlock. You insert key provided that lets allan key insert into bottom then turns pin up into coupler then withdraw allan key then turn key back to normal, the only way to remove is by picking lock. There are numerous threads on forums about locking AS. but this a simple anti theft lock. This lock is not expensive, believe around $35.00 but I never pur. as came w/horse trailer that wife pur. Bill
featherbedder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2016, 02:29 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1976 31' Sovereign
Oswego , Illinois
Follow up about Master Lock. there are 2 on ebay now, 1 is up tonite also they are not obsolete
Old 06-06-2016, 02:29 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky