Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-26-2020, 08:31 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

San Leandro , California
Hitch and brake controller for 2021 Bambi 16rb

Getting a 2021 Bambi 16rb in November, but I am a total towing newbie. Planning to use a Highlander XLE (5000 towing capacity) as TV. Any recommendations on hitch? Is it ok to use a wireless brake controller?
Gmca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 09:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
Where do you plan to buy this setup? If you don’t have confidence in their recommendations, you should go elsewhere. They should be willing to test and demonstrate the setup.
Many forum members are happy with their Bluetooth controllers - check their comments. Given the relative sizes of your trailer and tow vehicle, you want something reliable.
You can expect all kinds of vehement and sometimes contradictory responses from the towing gurus at this point.
GetawA-S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 09:15 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

San Leandro , California
Thanks!

Not sure where I will buy. Trying to get informed beforehand. Do I need anti-sway and weight distribution?

As for the Bluetooth controller, any recommendations on reliable ones?
Old 09-27-2020, 06:34 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
Your setup is smaller and should be relatively stress free. If you want a preview of the possible concerns, check the thread “smallest suv with towing capacity “ started by Imdakine1.
Your learning curve will include planning in traffic (formerly called defensive driving), mountain diving, and backing. Lots of info on this forum about each.