Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-16-2009, 03:37 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1978 29' Ambassador
1974 25' Tradewind
1974 27' Overlander
Indiana , Pennsylvania
First Recovery: What do I Need?

Well it looks like we'll be bringing home our first "stray". 20' Argosy...don't know the year yet (neither does owner). I have been towing trailers for many years; but never a recovered trailer. What items should I have available? Temporary rear brake lights? Wheel bearings? Spare tire? What experiences have others had in their recoveries? Thanks!

Bob
Roadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 04:08 PM   #2
_

. , .
hi bob

congrats.

common issue and series of questions.

seems there is a 'sticky' some where entitled...

"how do i tow or haul home a really old trailer i just purchased, and haven't inspected yet?"

or there SHOULD be one...

here's a couple of threads on this topic, but there are 100s.

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f368...ome-26080.html

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f238...ome-33441.html

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f42/...home-2435.html

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f48/...ome-14489.html

i'm sure some1 will come along with THE definitive thread on this, but those above help.

some folks USE their trailers on the first trip home.

and the list of things for a maiden travel/camping voyage are in another string of threads...

then there are the...

-"find a transport company" theme threads and

-"flat bedding it home" theme and

-"i only need to haul it 100 miles home, so can i do it without brakes, tires or lights?"

well you get the point.

safe travels by what ever route U take.

cheers
2air'