Old 05-20-2020, 09:56 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Kirkland , Washington
Question Brake controller for 2014 MB ML350

I am a complete noob of towing a trailer, so please bear with me . In a separate post I made earlier today, I learnt even with factory installed tow package for my car, I still need a brake controller. So I did some research and end up even more confused. Hope someone can help me understand how things work together.

From what I read, a proportional brake controller is the way to go. But what puzzles me is that they are activated by deceleration detection, thus they have to be installed in certain angle. But why use deceleration? When I step on the TV brake, isn't the TV brake system supposed to send proportional signal to the brake controller? If TV's brake system doesn't do this, why would they have a 'hatch' with plug right above the brake in cabin to hook up to the controller? Is that just to run the wire all to the 7-wire plug under the rear bumper of my car? Am I missing something?

My original understanding of how the tow package works was this
1. TV driver step on the brake, this slow down the TV, at the same time a proportional electronic signal is send through the wire to the 7-wire connector under the rear bumper.
2. Trailer has the 7-wire plug/cable plugged into that connector, so the brake signal reaches electric brake system on the trailer, and the brake system uses on board battery power to drive the brake to engage thus slow down the trailer.

But from what I read, it seems like this is how it works:
1. TV driver step on the brake, the TV decelerates and this is detected by the trailer brake controller and it sends the signal to the wire.
2. The signal is "amp'd" with TV's battery power to a higher voltage current to the 7-wire connector.
3. This higher voltage current goes to the trailer's brake system and directly drives the brake to engage, and slow down the trailer.