Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-26-2023, 12:34 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2019 27' Tommy Bahama
Williamsburg , Virginia
2019 Ford F 150 3.5L Eco-boost

2019 Ford F150 with 3.5 L V6 eco-boost, max trailer tow package.
I purchased my F150 new and have been extremely happy with his performance towing east of the Mississippi. my wife and I are planning a trip Through the Rockies (Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, Tetons, and hopefully more) in our 27 foot Airstream. Looking at the itinerary I notice many opportunities to be traveling up and down grades in excess of 11%.
I would like to talk with follow Airstream Owners, who tow with a Ford F150 3.5 V6 eco-boost. I have been towing Airstream’s since 1974 and have towed in all of the lower 48 states. I am very comfortable in towing in most conditions, so what I’m looking for, is your impressions of the performance of the engine and braking, in steep and extended changes in elevation.

Thank you very much and looking forward to your comments
RichardBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2023, 01:48 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2016 27' Flying Cloud
Overland Park , Kansas
We have the same truck and trailer and use a blue ox sway pro hitch. We’ve traveled all thru Colorado. Also been to Grand Canyon, Tetons and Yellowstone. I’m not sure if we’ve ever been on an 11% grade, but last summer we went over Monarch Pass which I think is a 7% grade and many tight turns, with no problems. The engine breaking was excellent and plenty of torque going up the passes.
Hiho Silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2023, 05:37 PM   #3
hbf
2 Rivet Member

2022 19' Bambi
2018 16' Sport
Gilroy , California
I have the 2019 F-150 4x4 Supercrew 3.5 L V6 Ecoboost w/max tow package and Blue Ox hitch. Untill this last summer I pulled a Bambi 16 throughout the Western US 15,000++ miles.