RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 02-22-2021, 07:04 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2019 30' Flying Cloud
Trophy Club , Texas
2016 Silverado 1500 and FC30RBT

Am looking for opinions on my combo... I have plenty of experience towing and hauling.

2019 FC30RBT

2016 Silverado 1500
Max Towing package
Class V hitch
Tekonsha Controller
5000 lb air bag assist in rear
6.2 liter
12,000 lb max tow weight

Comfortably hauled a Winnebago Minnie 28 class at 8700 lbs from Tx to Colorado and back

Will be deciding on hitch in the coming days

While I know many will automatically recommend a 3/4 ton and would agree it would have more capability especially with a diesel, but your opinions on this setup is what Iím seeking

Your thought and opinions would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks
Ch47d1sg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 07:13 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2020 23' International
Evergreen , Colorado
What’s the payload capacity of your truck?

I think you’ll find that the limiting factor with 1/2 ton trucks is payload capacity. The tongue weight of your 30RBT may use more of your payload capacity than you’d like.

2020 International Serenity 23 FB "Sparkle Plenty"
2018 GMC Denali 1500 Crew Cab 4x4
Airstream Club International #2805
Dennis C is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2021, 08:25 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis C View Post
Whatís the payload capacity of your truck?

I think youíll find that the limiting factor with 1/2 ton trucks is payload capacity. The tongue weight of your 30RBT may use more of your payload capacity than youíd like.
OP says 6.2L and 12k tow capacity. Sounds like a maxtow with around 1900 to 2050 payload, depending on options. If so, I tow a 2007 30 classic with a 2015 version. It does very well and I am under all weight specs. Payload is.close with all my gear, but it is under.