Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Argosy Trailers > All Argosy Trailers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-18-2005, 07:32 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 28
Towing..?

Hi there- We just had our 1973 20 foot Argosy in for some repairs and winterizing. We moved and therefore went to a new trailer repair shop. The man who organizes the work gave our oldie to a 'senior' technician. The tech. checked our brakes and said he felt they were not being used at all. When we got the trailer from my in-laws we had a garage put in a brake package, which we hook up for towing. I am not very good at knowing what is what... not a mechanic or even trying to know what is up We tow with a 2000 Honda Odyssey, which we had a towing package added on , which I think meant added something to the transmission to pull a trailer. However, the people at the repair shop felt that we should never be towing the trailer with our van... they felt it is unsafe and all the weight is on the van. Admittedly we usually have the trailer on a seasonal site for most of the season (April to October), BUT we have towed it off for a couple weeks each year to take it to a park 2 -3 hours away... and had no problem. Just wondering if this all sounds like nothing OR should I be concerned...? Sorry long e mail, I'll stop now.. thanks for any help or suggestions. W. Phibbs
phibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2005, 07:55 AM   #2
Just an old timer...

2004 22' Interstate
Tipton , Iowa
Hi Phibbs! Welcome to the Forums! I'm sure you'll get lots of opinions on your question...