RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 09-13-2004, 07:51 PM   #1

panhandle evacuee needs quick advice

Hello. I'm a fulltimer that, because of my work, I've only had to tow my 72 sovereign a couple of times at a fairly short distance since I've owned it (7 months). But I'm currently in the panhandle of Florida and seriously considering a move by tommorow...
This is probably a stupid question, but I'm not experienced in towing and it's still a little scary for me. Especially since I expect to encounter some winds on the road. Is it ok to tow with the water tank full? Will it affect the balance while driving?
Also, Is it ok for only one propane tank to be full instead of both?

Thanks to any that answer as soon as possible. I'm Looking to leave in the morning.
retrogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 07:59 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

retrogirl

It is OK to tow with water in the tank; trailers are made to handle that. It is also OK to tow with one LP tank empty.

If you take it slow and careful, you will surpise yourself at how easy towing can be. Relax and enjoy the ride.

Rick
Rick Alston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 07:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1959 26' Overlander
Putnam , Connecticut
The fresh water tanks are typically full. This weight on the hitch is a good thing. The waste tanks should be empty. The propane doesn't matter but should be turned off at the tank. Take your time and check your hookup, safty chains, tire pressure in trailer and tow vehicle. Good luck.
Over59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 08:03 PM   #4

Thanks guys. I feel better already!
retrogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 08:30 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
panhandle evacuee needs quick advice

Greetings retrogirl!

Welcome to the Forums!

Quote: