RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 06-17-2015, 01:38 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1974 31' Sovereign
Monclova , Ohio
Lost, coming of age WHAT DO I DO moment with my AS

Hi All,

I need some empowerment. I am feeling defeated and unsure of my direction. I have a 31ft 74 Sovereign. I am just beginning to restore her and after poking around it the past few days, I am realizing I need to gut her and build her back up- there's a leak somewhere in the fresh water tank that has lead me to believe that there is probably damage between the floor and belly skin. Of course, when I get down to the bare bones of it, there will be a thousand new problems that will overwhelm the heck out of me.

The difficulty lies is that I am doing this on my own with no prior knowledge and I've only handled power tools in 6th grade wood shop (but, the point of this is to learn!) The space I have now is not suitable anymore for this job. I need a place with storage, and truthfully its on a families property, where an elderly family member stops me from doing most things because I am a woman "and cannot fix things" blah blah blah. I'm not getting anything done, or the right way. I plan on living in this trailer, and 100% committed to it. I get more negative feedback than I care for. So, thats why I'm on my own. I am looking to this community for inspiration or to slap me in the face if I am not being realistic.

So, what I am asking if you all have any creative ideas.

I am outside the Toledo, OH area- any reader happen to know of a farmer or garage owner who will let me rent and use their space to keep my AS and repair it? I do travel for a living, so I have some flexibility in location- would prefer Michigan, Ohio, and even Indiana.

I know I would need actual help in terms of extra set of hands for some tasks, so I'll hire someone as needed for that?