Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-06-2012, 07:10 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1978 31' Sovereign
Parkersburg , West Virginia
'78 Sovereign 31' Full Monty

First off, if this is not the correct location for this thread, i apologize.

Also, I'm starting this thread a couple weeks into the gutting phase:

Front of camper.

Rear of camper.

I'm planning on doing a shell off restoration. I'm a huge fan of knowing exactly what shape the 'StreamDream' is in. I'm a newbie to the airstream resto game and I'm going to need all the help I can get. The scariest part of this process is figuring out the order to do everything, so my first question is: Once i finish gutting the inside, what should be my next step? Upon completely clearing out the interior, is there an order of operations for getting to the shell removal? For what it's worth, I'm planning on lifting the shell from the top using gantry cranes.

Any and all suggestions are welcomed and appreciated!
GreyMattr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 07:51 PM   #2

Vintage Kin Owner
... , ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyMattr
First off, if this is not the correct location for this thread, i apologize.
Now it is. No harm... No foul. Good luck on your project.

Kevin

"One of the best lessons I've learned is that you don't worry about criticism from people you wouldn't seek advice from."

William C. Swinney

Kevin245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 04:39 AM   #3
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
After getting the interior out I would figure out how you plan to raise the shell. But the next step is to remove the endcaps (very carefully) and the interior skins.

Aaron
WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 07:20 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1978 31' Sovereign