Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Safari > 1960 - 1965 Safari
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-07-2011, 08:48 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1964 22' Safari
Valley Glen , California
Want to get my 1964 Safari ready for travel

Hi,

What a great forum this is!

I am looking for someone who can do some "systems" assessment and repair on the 1964 Airstream Safari I just got.
It seems mostly sound but I am no expert. I took my trailer to a restorer in Southern California, where I am but am not happy with the amount of money they seem to want to soak me for. Anyone know of some good sources in Southern Cal.? And good appliance buying sites or locations

Thanks,

Safari Bob
Safari Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:02 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1963 22' Safari
sherman oaks , California
C & G Trailer just east of LAX
562 634 6286
Rod and Darlene
They come from a long family of AS repair
When I was purchasing my 62 Safari I talked for hours w Rod. He's a great source of info and will do anything on that AS

Mike
mmenchel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Hi Safari Bob, Welcome to the forums. I think you will like it here.

If you haven't already, you should talk to Uwe at area 61 Productions. If you are not prepared to do repairs yourself he is the best resource in the area. You will not find an inexpensive RV tech who knows old Airstreams, and Camping world will not understand some of the odd things on your Safari