Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Safari > 2000 - 2004 Safari
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-19-2013, 10:28 AM   #1

2001 27' Safari
San Luis Obispo , California
Batteries 6V vs 12V, Battery Guru needed

Hello All,
This will be my first post and question, as I'm new to airforums. I purchased a 2001 27' Safari, I bought it used 4 years ago. I have struggled with the 12v battery that is mounted on the tongue ever since we purchased it. It doesn't seem to have enough juice to hold up through the night. The previous owner had installed a solar system on the roof to recharge the battery, and it works fine. Shore power, generator, solar system all work great, for keeping it charged and use during the day. However, in cold weather I run the heater at night, and keep thermostat at about 62/63.
After waking up in the morning with a dead battery for the first year or two, I purchased a new 12v deep cycle interstate battery about 2 years ago, that is now doing the same thing, drains completely dead by morning.
There is limited space on the tongue between the propane tanks and trailer, and I have about 13" of space. I want to add a second battery, and was recently told by my local RV guy the best option with this limited space is that I could get 2 6v batteries, and that this would also create more amp hours.