Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-22-2008, 04:11 PM   #1

Commerce , Georgia
Need advice on possible '68 Safari purchase

Hello everyone!
I am a new member and would like to thank everyone for all the great information on this site. I am also new to Airstream so I have much to learn. I wanted to start off by asking a question about a recent find. I have come across a 1968 Airstream 22' Safari that I am thinking of purchasing and need some advice. The camper seems to be in great shape on the outside but is in the midst of a remodel on the inside. The current owners are moving and want to sell it. They have all the appliances and cabinets that have been removed, the sub-flooring has been partially replaced, the tires have been replaced, the roof-top AC is not working, the water heater has been replaced, and a couple of the windows have been replaced. The owner is asking $1200 negotiable. I really don't have any experience with Airstream so I'm not sure if this camper is worth that or not when I can spend about $2500 and get a ready to go pop-up or self-contained. Any advice or comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.

RT
rodneyt28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 05:28 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1968 22' Safari
Kalamazoo , Michigan
First off...Welcome to the forums
I have a 1968 Safari...you can view it at my blog ssairstream.blogspot.com I purchased it for $5,000 and it is in very good and original condition (except the newer air conditioner). With the exception of the minor mouse issue, I am very happy. It has been stored for the past 16 years in a very nice pole barn with very little floor rot...don't fool yourself...they all have floor rot. I plan on watching my floor and will probably replace it either next summer or the one after that.
Some things to keep in mind...
What are you planning to do, restore or renovate?