Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Sovereign > 1970 - 1973 Sovereign
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-13-2012, 09:41 AM   #1

1973 31' Sovereign
Tomales , California
Just bought a '73 Sovereign for $3000

I am completely new to Airstream--believe it or not!
Now I'm asking myself, what have I gotten myself into?

I will be living in it full-time, and am in the process of downsizing. I'll have one-half the space---I've been shrinking down for some time in preparation for living on a fixed income.

Right now I am in the process of finding a place to park it. I want to present my case as honestly as possible. I want to go solar, and put in a self-composting toilet. In other words, other than fresh water, I want to be completely self-sustaining. Can anyone help me with talking points, amount to offer. In other words, what is realistic?

Yes, I know I have my work cut out for me. First, I need tires to move it. The woman who owned it really couldn't help much. I have the owners manual, but for a neophyte, it's all Greek to me! I have a friend who will be moving it, and he has done this before. (He says.)

I want to take off the wheels after moving, and stabilize it. Any suggestions?
Actually, as you can probably tell from my queries, I need all of the sound advice/help I can get.

Thanks, everyone.

Hargsnarkle
Hargsnarkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:48 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 28
Milton , Ontario
Welcome to AS Forums...

Hi Hargsnarkle,

You have come to the right place and everyone here, once upon a time, was a newbie just like you and me.

You will find a wealth of information on this forum and many owners will be glad to assist in offering insight and solutions.