Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Excella 500 > 1977 Excella 500
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-03-2010, 04:34 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1978 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
SOUTH ANHERST , Ohio
Thinking about the purchase of a 1977 Excella

The question I have is this , I am new to the RV Grooup and have never owned a Air Stream , I have been doing a little reading and what are the issues I should be looking for??
One I have been reading about is a SAGGING In the REAR ! do all Air Streams of 1970+ have these issues , ALSO axel issues . I have one I am thinking of looking at in the Ohio Area and this excella has a rear bathroom would this be a issue .
I do not want to fall in a money pit.
Being new to the RV Market I need all the help I can get in my purchase of a Excella Air Stream .
Should I have it inspected and if so were does one find such a person ?
Thanks George
Gosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 05:41 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Vintage Kin Owner
Vintage Kin Owner
Vintage Kin Owner
Currently Looking...
Greeeneville , Tennessee
Send a message via Yahoo to Silverhobby
Hi George, Welcome to the FORUMS.
There may be a fellow AIRFORUMS member that would volunteer to be an inspector for you. AS far as the rear sag issues, any trailer could potentially develop a leak leading to floor rot and separation. It is a bit more common in the rear bath models, but does happen to the rear bedroom models as well.
The axles are now more than 32 years old. Check out Inland RV Center - The Nations Leading Expert in Airstream Innovations
Look for articles and read about the Dura Torque axle. You'll be able to evaluate for yourself the condition of the axle.
visit my restoration blog at: