Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-06-2013, 02:25 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1964 30' Sovereign
bremerton , Washington
Moving rear bath to center split bath

Hi, I'm new to the forum, and airstreams altogether! Recently bought a gutted 64' land yacht and trying to figure out where everything goes...I've read up about what a huge task it is to move the bathroom location, but its happening no matter what! Being a newbie, I might have some dumb questions, so bear with me! Is it at all possible to leave the black tank in the back and run plumbing to it? My husband is pondering the idea of using one tank for the black and grey water. Thoughts on that? We will mostly be using this trailer in a stationary location, hooked up to city water ect. Thanks!
jrossingaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:48 PM   #2

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Alamo Heights , Texas
The black tank needs to be directly underneath the toilet if you use a gravity-flush toilet (the typical RV type of toilet.) Personally I think it's a bad idea to use a combined tank for gray and black, because if you're not paying attention and it fills, it'll back up through the lowest drain, the shower. I don't want blackwater in my shower.

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:49 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 Argosy 24
Currently Looking...
Milltown , Wisconsin
If you can hook up to the city sewer you will not need any tanks.
ventport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 02:52 PM   #4
Rivet Master

I hear you. Won't try to change your mind.