Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Plumbing - Systems & Fixtures
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-24-2021, 02:20 PM   #1

1973 31' Sovereign
JAckson , Mississippi
Black and Grey holding tank layout - best practice

Where do I start...I've started the remodel of my 73 Sovereign 31' rear bath. The previous owner had started a remodel on it, but I've torn it all out. I didn't understand the direction they were going with it, and I wasn't super happy with the quality of the workmanship. They also didn't appear to have a decent plan on the plumbing. This also means I don't understand how things were done originally or with what is there.

I am new to RV planning and design work which is causing some analysis paralysis finalizing a plan to get the tank(s) ordered. Black water tank is decent shape. There is no grey water tank. I am trying to figure out the best layout for adding a grey tank, and where to put the connections in the new tank. I've gone back and forth on having a blackwater tank or not. Today, I think I am going to keep it in the mix. Here is a pic of what I am working with.

Any advice, tips, pictures, link, etc on the best way to get this into a functional plumbing system. They also have torn up the endcap, which I assume means I should just take it all out. Is it repairable? I have seen so many posts on any of this, but all that I have found don't take too big of a deep dive into this stage of things. Thanks for any help or direction on where to look!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1007.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	375.2 KB
ID:	387492  
Seaboldarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 07:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado