Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-21-2014, 07:45 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
vista , California
Help me make the correct choice.

I am sitting here sipping my coffee in Anaheim Cali with my family of five in an 1989 29" excella and it is tight (not a lot of room) and aged. The whole park is filled with shiny new units from other makers and I can't help but be a little envious. They are bigger and cleaner. Our unit looks tired to say the least. Here is the question; do I by a new unit and enjoy camping with my young kids or do I spend my weekends fixing up a tired trailer for the next couple of years. I am a woodworker by trade and am a little ocd so using it in it's current condition is not in the cards. What have others decided in a similar situation and are you happy with your choice?
jgermano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 07:55 AM   #2
Full Time Adventurer

2007 27' International CCD FB
Nomadic , USA
For me time is money and money equals choices. So... do you want to spend your weekends doing that for however long? Or do you want to just have it now?

Second, do you want something you designed/built and crafted yourself, with your hands, that you put your own sweat and blood into. Something you take pride in and have a connection too? Equally valuable.
Old 07-21-2014, 08:23 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
vista , California
"So... do you want to spend your weekends doing that for however long? Or do you want to just have it now?"

No I don't want to spend my weekends working on it. I did that with a fixer up house and I am 15 years in and still not done.

Second, do you want something you designed/built and crafted yourself, with your hands, that you put your own sweat and blood into. Something you take pride in and have a connection too? Equally valuable.