Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Off Topic Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-26-2020, 07:23 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari
St. Augustine , Florida
Airstream Prices in retrospect

Recently I have seriously been considering an update to another Airstream and started studying models, prices, etc. I am choking at the prices. I CAN purchase one but at a significant loss to my savings (I am a teacher). I began wondering about the prices of Airstreams compared to other related things over time so this is what I found:

Airstreams have doubled in price since 2007 (88K FC25/44K) using lower trim models Safari/Flying Cloud

F150 prices have increased 34% avg since 2007 (KR)

Travel Trailers OB marketwise have increased 23% avg since 2007 (avg 24K/now 31K avg)

I was thinking about inflation and other things. I know that more equipment is on them now from 2007 but that would be the same for other brands as well. It is a lot of money and a big decision and cost for, I believe, most people. I have been told that they are discounted 20% or so if new. Am I alone in my perspective or affordability "index" ?
Old 05-26-2020, 07:57 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2013 25' Flying Cloud
Crystal River , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodsterinfl View Post
Am I alone in my perspective or affordability "index" ?
RVs in general aren't a mass market commodity and Airstreams in particular aren't. Politics aside money in our society is percolating towards the top. Airstreams are marketed to the upper percentages of the economic lot so affordability hasn't been a problem. I think if you look at income distribution charts the upper 10% or so has kept right up with Airstream's pricing.