Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > General Motorhome Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-19-2017, 01:29 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
2015 Interstate Grand Tour
Magnolia , Texas
Utility Battery Maintenance and Management

I am new to RV's and recently purchased a 2015 Mercedes Airstream Interstate Grand Tour EXT about 18 month's old. My utilities batteries seem to go flat in about 2 days after use and/or after charging. However, they charge up very quickly when I next used the vehicle.

Is this normal? Are my batteries bad? Should I be doing something?

Other than this everything is in excellent working order.

Regards, Patrick (oconnpe)
oconnpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 01:50 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky
Hi Patrick, welcome to the forum, greetings from central Kentucky. Congratulations on your Interstate acquisition.

How long batteries last depends on several factors; usage, size, amp-hours, age and condition. 2-4 days, without a recharge or solar panel(s) I would say is probably about right, if you aren't connected to external AC power.

You can take the batteries to just about any parts store and they can put them on a load tester to determine their condition.

I'm assuming you're boon docking, not connected to AC power at a campground. If this is an incorrect assumption, let us know.
2004 4Runner SE 4.7L V8
Rich W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 09:31 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2024 Interstate 19
Fulton , Maryland