Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > General Motorhome Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-09-2013, 07:36 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2023 23' International
Macon , Georgia
Questions From A Newbie

I currently have a small motorhome and thinking about going to an Airstream. I am very new to travel trailers and have some basic questions. I am sure these have been covered before in this forum and I have done some searches, but have not found the answers. My questions are:
1. As a general rule of thumb, what max length/weight Airstream can you handle with a 2013 Chevy Suburban 2 wheel drive?
2. Why doesn't AS offer a 30' in a front bedroom floor plan?
3. Why can't you get a mounted propane generator in a AS? I understand weight is always a concern, but this would be a huge benefit and worth going to a smaller model to get it.
4. Where can I find MSRP price lists and available options for each model?

Any information on the above is appreciated.
Roadtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 07:50 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
You can get an onboard, propane generator in an Interstate.

Will let the serious knowledge-bearers here answer the rest of your questions.

Good luck!

Maggie
Old 10-09-2013, 07:51 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1970 23' Safari
2005 30' Classic
1986 31' Sovereign
Lorain , Ohio
1. As a general rule of thumb, what max length/weight Airstream can you handle with a 2013 Chevy Suburban 2 wheel drive?

-- All of them. What model suburban? (1500 or 2500)?

-- Just guessing, but not enough demand?

3. Why can't you get a mounted propane generator in a AS? I understand weight is always a concern, but this would be a huge benefit and worth going to a smaller model to get it.