Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums > General Motorhome Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-29-2008, 07:57 PM   #1
qdp
1 Rivet Member

2004 25' International CCD
Pacific Palisades , California
Cool Airstream designs for the next decade

OK, as an architect I am truly bummed, <www.archwork.com> because the conceptual AS design has NOT kept up with new materials, technology or adaptive-use innovation. Case in point, CCDs come out some 15 years ago- interior decoration, oh, la-la, and Chris Deams are very popular, instantly. As in good and profitable. I've approached AS Thor Conglomerate a few years ago asking them to take on a new RV design implemented, tech driven direction:

High Tech applications, materials, finishes, systems, integrated environmental design. Their HR dept. didn't quite know who to contact with my query. "We have a design dept. already..." Very gooood. - Right. McNoose Technical School A & R. (sorry, if this exists)

What I mean by this design prevalence concept is everything: weight savings carbon fiber, adaptive monocoque chassis, a configured elect. , storable local transport vehicles, clamshell roof panels, (space shuttle) new roof deck walks, better slide-outs, (think....) slide up seating, B-29 vista windows, piezo-electric shading glass, integral PV and integral structure windturbine generators, Aeroblades. (See mobile TV van antennas...) Zero balance life cycle costs,
I could go on and on.