Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums > Bambi and Bambi II > 1961 - 1963 Bambi
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-27-2012, 05:29 AM   #1

1961 16' Bambi
Hot Springs , Arkansas
'61 Bambi full resto.

Good Morning,
This is my first post in this forum(or any forum for that matter).I'm restoring a 1961 Bambi for friend.I have never worked on an airstream before but have always wanted to.I would like to have input and advice from more experienced individuals on this massive undertaking.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	324.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	352.9 KB
ID:	163947   Click image for larger version

Name:	352.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	281.1 KB
ID:	163948  

Tinfoil Hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:18 AM   #2

1961 16' Bambi
Hot Springs , Arkansas
The teardown has begun this week.This thing was the "project" of several people who did not realize the scale of the work needed to get this beauty back into road worthy condition.The interior will be salvaged(as much as possible)and re installed after the floor replacement and some ext. skin work.
Attached Thumbnails

Name:	004.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	232.3 KB
ID:	163949   Click image for larger version

Name:	005.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	257.3 KB
ID:	163950  

Name:	008.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	321.6 KB
ID:	163951  
Old 07-27-2012, 09:05 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1976 23' Safari
1962 22' Safari
1961 16' Bambi
Philly burbs , PA
Definite Resto

Hi Tinfoil Hat,