Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2002, 08:48 AM   #1
rdm
2 Rivet Member

Synthetic lubricants

Does anyone have experience with Amsoil products I am considering switching the engine, transmission and rear end fluid over to a synthetic. Your comments are appreciated.
Thanks
Ray
1985 Airstream 325
rdm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2002, 10:33 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1965 20' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Synthetics in general

I run Mobil1 products in anything that needs lubricants. I looked at the Amsoil and Redline products before settling on the Mobil 1 products. I chose to go Mobil1 for really on one reason. Availabilty.

I did quite a bit of research before beginning to use them. I have been using them for over 15 years now. Vehicles I have used them in from the time I purchased them are:

1985 Chevy S-10 2.8 liter pickup- had 310,000 miles on it when I sold it last year.
1991 Chevy S-10 4.3 liter Blazer- currently has 188,000 miles and still going strong. Still own
1995 Chevy CK 1500 5.7 liter xtdn cab- 148,000 miles daily ride and our tow vehicle. Still own.
1994 Miata 1.8 liter forced air- 40,000 miles "very tweaked" HI Revving engine. Still own and run it pretty hard but do not abuse. (There is a difference.)

The only reason I use synthetics is they do not breakdown as does dinosaur oil. I live in south-central Texas and it is not uncommon for us to have a month of 100+ degree days in the summer. I do not use them to extend the service intervals. I still believe that dirt circulating around in an engine is the main cause of premature engine failure. I change the lubricants out at 3000-5000 intervals. As you can see from the miles noted above I must be doing something right but I do not think it has anything to do with the lubricants. I think it has to do with just keeping the internals cleaned and properly lubed.