Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-29-2005, 10:06 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
More intake air

As the carb will get rebuilt on Monday I think tomorrow will be a good day to start on the new air breather box. The president of the golf bag company I represent built this 454 Chevy alternative to the standard filter arrangement. More air is better.

http://www.picturetrail.com/gallery/...17&uid=1666439

His complete project is here.... worth looking at to see how deep some people get. This is a freight hauler complete with curbside cargo door.

http://www.picturetrail.com/clubmaxxpch
Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 11:23 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Impressive and enterprising endevour! My hat is off to his level of commitment and enthusiasm. . .
TheGanzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 06:09 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
I'm hoping my air hose will be at home tomorrow when I get there. I'd like to complete the project before I head to Florida on Tuesday.

I've got the "box" fabricated and just need to seal it and cut the hole for the hose. From there just have to snake the hose out front and attach the cone filter.

After my carb rebuild I tracked 9.53 MPG on my trip over to Myrtle Beach yesterday

Now if I can stuff a little more air into the mix.... next on the list is the super Mallory ignition setup and I'm off to the double digits...maybe.
Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Old 11-19-2005, 04:40 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Project complete!!