Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-27-2002, 03:10 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Question Models to avoid?

Hello,

I have been Airstreaming for ten years in my 1974 27' Land Yacht and lately I've been bitten by the bug to move into a motor home. Because I LOVE my trailer, I want to get a classic aluminum motorhome (if I can afford it!).

There is a ton of valuable infomation in this forum. Yet, I am wondering if anyone has any general feedback on models to avoid? My dream MH would be a classic model in the 27 to 30 foot range. Are there certain years to avoid? Models to avoid?

I ask this because in the trailers there are some models that are more susceptable to problems than others (i.e. tail sag).

Also, are there certain engines/transmissions to avoid?

Thanks for any feedback.

Dave Robertson
Flint, MI
drober05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2002, 05:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

LOST , Hawaii
Check this thread about an 87 Ford overheating. A 4 core radiator is a must. I don't know how many Ford's are out there, but it is not usally a problem with the right setup. Fred's site has an engine trans matrix which lists the ones available. These are all GM. The P30 is pretty reliable and there is not a lot difference other than length. No 350's. Some have Isuzu diesels, the majority 454's. Both are pretty good engines, but an older diesel will cost more to maintain than a gas engine. Parts will also be easier to find on the road. Maintenance and overall condition are the most important factors.

John
74Argosy24MH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2002, 06:22 PM   #3
Airstream Driver

1994 30' Excella
1992 35' Airstream 350
Austin , Texas
Hi Dave,
When I started looking for an Airstream Motorhome, my first criteria was size, just like you are stating. (Besides the obvious $$)
I really didn't want anything over 28 feet, but may have settled for 300 or 310