Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Motorhome Forums
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-16-2003, 07:02 AM   #1
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Seattle , WA
California smog test report on MH

Just had my "pre-inspection" smog test. I was told that I failed the test. My baby is a "gross polluter"! So they took it across the street to a mechanic and he said it was high in hydrocarbons...800 range. That means that it isn't burning the fuel very efficiently and that it will cost me 200 bucks to find out why.
Ok, so I'll be paying it, but I'd like to pick brains here and ask what could it possibly be? I think, although I'm not a mechanic, that it may be the carburetor? I don't want to be told it may be this or that, and pay for many different things if it isn't what's causing the problem. I have noticed that the inside of my MH smells like exhaust everytime the engine is on and I'm stopped and idling. I thought it was a leaky doghouse, but it's not as simple as that now. I need to pass the smog test to have the title and registration.
So, for all you folks out there thinking about buying out of state where there is no smogging, and going to register in a smogging state, my suggestion to you would be to do a pre-smog inspection if there is a way to do it, before purchasing, or it can cost $$$.
I will report again on what the mechanic finds.
Astrodokk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 09:19 AM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Are you near Redwood City? I had Redwood General Tire smog my 85 270 this year, they know alot about RV's and trucks. I passed no problem and I know there were a few issues from the past that the original owner didn't take care of. I do know that Calif has a new smog test that is tougher on older cars and trucks.