Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2002, 01:18 PM   #1

Airstream/Argosy Floorplans? Questions from a newbie

Hello,
My name is Erich and I may be an Airstreamaholic.

I am just beginning my data gathering on Airstream motorhomes.
I love the look of the Silver bullet, and in general I prefer older motorvehicles to newer. The problem is a lot of the floorplans I have seen don't seem quite right for my family.

Ours is a family of four, including two boys ages 5 and 7.

I would prefer a double or queen bed for us and a pair of twin beds for the boys.
In an ideal world the boys would have separate berths and we could leave the dinette set up for eating.

Oh yeah, I want to keep the rig length to 31 feet or less, most of our camping is in smaller Forest Service campgrounds and the like.

Can anyone point me toward pictures of floorplans in the various years, or make a recommendation for which floor plan might be most suitable for us?

I am quite handy so I could make modifications to the interior to make a coach suit our needs better, but I want to save that as a last resort

Thanks,

Erich
ErichC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2002, 05:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 26' Overlander
Woodstock , Georgia
the under 31 foot models have floor plans with either no bedroom in the rear at all, or a rear bath with twin beds in the room just before it. The 310 and up have rear bedrooms and a split bath. There is some variation in this, with a few smaller ear bedrooms out there, but I have yet to see one. The 345 is Tandem axle, and anything shorter is dual rear tire, but single rear axle. Motorhomes in the classic 79-89 vintage range from 24'
to 34.5', although there were some shorter Argosy's prior to 79.
Check Fred Hind's airstream motorhome classic web site for great photos in and out. See the links for reference to this site.