Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Knowledgebase > Airstream Trailer Forums
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-14-2020, 12:26 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
PORTLAND , OR
Trailers for 6'8" Husband

We've been looking for a fixer trailer and have heard the 1960s Airstreams have the tallest interior height.
Anyone out there know the tallest interior height models and years?
Airstream or otherwise?
Thanks so much!
LoYates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 12:48 PM   #2
Rivet Puller

2003 28' Safari S/O
Atlanta Burbs , Georgia
I'm no expert on all the Airstream details across years and models but generally the interior heights of trailers before the most recent models are 6' 3." The current models (with ducted AC) are 6' 7.5"

Sir Tristan
Air #48582, S/SO #003, WBCCI #4584
SeeMore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:17 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2019 25' Flying Cloud
Hendersonville , North Carolina
Airstream for tall guy

Call Airstream of South Florida in Ft. Myers. Ask to talk to one of there Sales Reps named Bruce "Tall Guy" Miller. He may have some tips on how to live in an Airstream when height matters. He is at least 6'8" and then some. Really nice guy. He and his wife used to work for Hadocy Airstream in Columbus, Ohio but moved to Florida a few years back. Good luck with your search.
uraljohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:38 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

1960 28' Ambassador
Libertyville , Illinois
Check out this 2011 thread from Darkspeed called Shell off Headroom Epiphany.

https://www.airforums.com/forums/f53...any-79254.html
Short563 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2020, 01:56 PM   #5
Rivet Master

1969 18' Caravel
Greenville , whereEverIroam
Headroom