Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-11-2021, 10:14 PM   #1

1966 17' Caravel
Auburn , CA
1966 Caravel - Water Heater

Hi there! I'm a proud new owner of a 1966 Caravel. It's all original and in great working condition. The only piece I haven't been able to find info on is how to get the water heater going. It looks pretty old and the previous owners said they never tried to use it.

Here's a picture of what it looks like. I understand the dial and temp controls. I'm just not sure where to actually place a lighter to get the pilot lit. I have low faith that this will even work, but I've got to at least try .

If anyone has any info it would be much appreciated. I'm trying to do research before attempting to lite the pilot. I'm a newbie so any and all info is appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4831 copy.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	303.2 KB
ID:	403850   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4829 copy.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	318.3 KB
ID:	403851  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4830 copy.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	268.8 KB
ID:	403852  
Bri_Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 06:33 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2005 25' Safari
1968 17' Caravel
1967 22' Safari
Leawood , Kansas